You learn something new every day…

There is a sneaky little gallery upstairs on Rundle Mall, run by the enigmatic Josh Smith.  It’s called Espionage Gallery, and I have been invited to partake in a show there.

EspionageGallery-LimitedEdition

30(ish) Adelaidian Artists will be presenting 40+ works on the walls of Adelaide’s skinniest gallery, some big, some small, all spectacular.

As you can imagine, I was stoked to be asked to join in the fun!

The only problem, this is a print show, and I’m primarily a painter!
Never mind that, says I, dredging back into dusty memories of first-year Uni. I’m sure I’ve done a print at some point in the past… Viola! Printmaking Workshop, Foundation Studies, 2006. All you need to know, right?

Working from these faded experiences, I found an image in my sketchbook waiting with baited breath to be finalized and sent out into the world, some acetate, a sharp scratchy thing, and set to work.
After creating my etched plate, I ran into another dilemma; I did not have any ink, nor a press, nor knowledge of which paper was best.
So I called up those useful and friendly kids Jack and Jake from Tooth and Nail Studios, who let me come into their fine abode to utilise their equipment, and their brains.
Ater a bit of trial and error; below, you can see the amazing finished product!
Behold, my first print in six years…

 

process   IMG_7831
IMG_7837
  framed

“Its quiet in here.”
Kat Coppock
Drypoint etching
2012

Each image is a unique one-off event.  Once these are sold, there will be no more available, so to make sure you get yours come to the show!

6pm, Thursday the 5th of April
Espionage Gallery
Suite 1, Level 2, 93 Rundle Mall, Adelaide, SA 5000
Be there!
Your empty walls compel you!

😀
Xx

Leave a Reply

